Breakfast Ball

breakfast-ballIt’s 7:30 am and time to make that first swing off the tee. Now, I am barely awake at this hour and to try to actually hit that tiny ball is going to be a challenge for me. The gal I play with has a wonderful sense of humor and great compassion for this very novice golfer. So, on this morning my first swing doesn’t go overly far (yes, I lifted my head) and where does it land? Of course, right next to a squirrel hole! Now complete with a dusting of sand, my little fluorescent pink ball sits perched on the grass ready to challenge me for another swing. This is what we call a ‘breakfast ball.’ My sweet friend gave it to me, but I did not accept the do over…I saved it for what I knew would be another bad shot sometime during the game.

Being over sixty is not the best age to pick up this sport! I am terrible at this game as I have little hand-eye coordination. I am not athletic. I can never remember if the club number is higher, it goes farther or is it the other way around. I don’t have the stamina for 18 holes. I don’t like getting sweaty in summer golf, BUT I LOVE the game!

I love the outdoors and the fact that each hole is like a brand new game. I love golf carts. I love the cute golf clothes. I love my pretty pink golf club grips. But most of all, I have FUN! I don’t care that I’m terrible. I don’t care what my score is. I can laugh at those ‘air swings’ and the hits where it looks more like bowling than golfing.

I have a small selection of clubs; but let’s face it, I can barely use what I have. My bag has a 9, 8, 7, P, S, a hybrid 4.5 and a putter. The hybrid doesn’t like me…and I don’t care for it either…too heavy. But I drag it out from time to time. When I hit into the 30’s I get to have a 3 iron! How’s that for a goal?!

Want to know how bad a golfer I am? Well, on a par 3 executive 9 hole course I can score from a 41 to a 53! Now that is just awful, I know. But watch out! With golf lessons and playing twice a week I just might break 40! I’ve experience two birdies and half a dozen pars. My objective now, is no 6’s and to try to always 2 putt.

Retired golf is the best!!! So glad I found this sport.

Leave a comment