Morning Golf vs. The Coots

img_6634

There is little better than an unhurried day on a beautifully manicured golf course that you only had to pay $10 for 9 holes of golf. Ah, retired golf. Little did I know when the day began, just how interesting  the morning was going to be.

img_6663

 

It started with deciding to hit a few balls at the range to warm up because I was really feeling stiff and it was cold outside. So, I paid for a little buck of balls, got my coded slip of paper to take over to the kiosk to get the bucket. To my utter surprise when I stood at the kiosk there was a magnifying glass hanging on a cord. Huh! What was that for? Then it dawned on me, it was there to ‘assist’ with reading the small coded number you punch into the key pad that allows you to get the balls! LOL. Guess golf really is a retired persons sport! Which begs the question, “Can golfers see well enough to hit the ball and not kill anyone?”

This should have been a clue to how the morning would unfold. My golfing buddy arrived and off to the first hole we went. And what do we find hovering all around the tee area? A was a small covert of coots. Coots are these funny little black birds with white beaks and odd feet. They fear little, so were non-pulsed when I was setting up. It appears that the coots wanted to hang out right in front of the tee area and had no real intentions of leaving. I’m ready to go and they still weren’t moving so… I got out my hybrid club and in typical first swing fashion, hit a breakfast ball! img_6666Yes, it landed almost in front of me and smacked a coot! Those of you who know me well know I am no fan of birds, but I did hope I didn’t kill one of the little guys. Fortunately it shook off the smacking and wandered off with the rest of the covert. My repeat shot was much better. The club has a nickname now: The Coot Slayer! My score was better than usual, so I’d say it was a banner day. Can’t wait for next week’s game. You just may hear more about the exploits of the Coot Slayer club!

Leave a Reply

