Thimbles Around the World

I’ve discovered that traveling is a great way to be on the hunt for my favorite collectible: thimbles.  They are easy to collect and store, but not necessarily easy to find. I started collecting around 1983…long before retirement!  But over the years, the collection has grown to just over 200!

Just a few “Thimbles Around the World”

I don’t look for what I call “airport” thimbles, which are inexpensive and usually have  tacky machine-stamped logos on them. In a pinch these little icons will do, if they represent a city or place that has meaning and there are no other choices. I tend to look for the unique or unusual that will remind me of a special location or event.

When we travel with friends, they all know to be on the lookout for these hidden treasures and give me a heads up. They are often shelved almost out- of- sight in shops, as I suspect they aren’t great sellers. It’s like an adult scavenger hunt! An added bonus is that they take up no space in a suitcase and don’t add any weight. And, I save lots of money by not collecting jewelry!

These tiny souvenirs are very affordable as far a collectibles go. Some of my favorites cost under $8. Some can be more, a lot more, but those are typically passed by. No one will want my collection because of its value! It’s purely sentimental and a beautiful reminder of places we’ve been.

I’ve managed to acquire thimbles from every continent but Antarctica. Hopefully, I will make it there one day. Then I can declare I’ve been on every continent!

 

Leave a Reply

