Volunteer Teaching

In February, I began volunteering twice a week with the Laubach Council for Literacy. Seems rather ironic to think I am now volunteering to do what I got paid to do for 20+ years! I am working 4 hours a week teaching adults English as a Second Language (ESL).

I have 7 amazing women ages 30-70 who are beginning English speakers. The women represent the countries of So. Korea, Ukraine, Mexico, Columbia, and Iran. We work on building vocabulary, grammar, pronunciation, and conversation skills. They need help with simple things, like ordering food from a restaurant, making doctor appointments, or even answering the phone. I love being able to help and I didn’t realize how much I missed teaching until I began working there. I don’t even mind the prep work that goes into preparing lessons.

The organization serves communities all over the area (I think the US as well). I am located at a local community center that is 3.6 miles from my house. The center offers several English classes designed to meet the needs of the participants. Some folks don’t speak any English and are illiterate in their native tongue. It is so hard to see people in this situation.  I wonder how I would do if I was in their shoes. Our job is to teach English, as well as to help them assimilate into our culture. I am blessed I have the time to volunteer and grateful that teaching is a gift that I can use to help those in need.

 

Leave a Reply

