Golf Swing vs Rotator Cuff

So, just what is a rotator cuff and how do you tear it? My online dictionary says  it is a “capsule with fused tendons that supports the arm at the shoulder joint and is often subject to athletic injury.”

The good news is I can be considered an athlete! I always wanted to be an athlete, but that means you have to have some sort of ability-which I do not have. I have learned to swing a club and I golf twice a week so I guess that makes me a retired golfing pro!

The bad news is that I partially tore my left rotator cuff. The diagnosis from an MRI came with lots of other long words I can’t pronounce. All I know is that I can’t really move the arm much. Sleeping is a bear and I’m sidelined from swinging a club.

The good news is we are going to try physical therapy first before surgery. I have a great physical therapist that I have had before for hip bursitis, so I have a lot of confidence in him. Things are going REALLY slow right now.

The bad news is I am missing out on all of the great spring golfing weather. I hate the hot summers, so spring is my favorite time to golf! I’ll let you know when I can swing a club again…

 

Leave a Reply

