Giving to God

The Christmas celebration is behind us and yet it is just the beginning of God’s redemptive plan for us. It is truly a time of celebration and reflection on His greatness.  I want to challenge myself to intentionally set aside time to be in His Presence and give back by serving in a new way.

dsc00882
His glorious creation

Giving God my time is important and yet I often find myself getting so caught up in daily life that I put off spending time with Him. You know, things like laundry, errands, phone calls, computer time, busyness with grand kids and even some church related activities. But these are not spending time in His holy presence, listening for His voice, soaking in His peace, hearing His commands or simply meditating on what it means to be His child. I need to do more than give Him Sunday and my mid-week Bible study.  It’s time to prioritize my life so that He is number one in all that I think and do.

God has given each of us talents and riches beyond our wildest dreams. In humility I need to go before others to serve using the gifts I’ve been blessed with. I must begin to ask myself some questions like, how can I give back to my community?  Where or who in my community can I offer a helping hand?  I hear God asking me to use my teaching ability to help others. But how? I’ve retired from classroom teaching. Perhaps I will look into a literacy program and see if I can help second-language adults learn to read. I’ll keep you posted.

Let 2017 be the year you and I share His love with someone in need. Let us put God first in ALL we do.  Let that be our New Year’s Resolution.

1 thought on “Giving to God”

  1. Loved reading this Katie! The challenge is real. Sometimes we let life take over and crowd out our time for the most important! ❤️

    Like

Leave a Reply

