I’m a Golfer!

Yes, it’s official, I’m a retired golfer! With minimal hand- eye co-ordination, limited spatial vision, and fear of being hit by a ball, don’t you think I’ve picked the “just right” sport for me? I’ve never liked sports for the above obvious reasons, but the golf bug has bitten and I can’t get enough!  Golfing two days a week now with a lesson twice a month.

I’ve decided that if you dress the part, talk the part, and show up for early tee-times, you are officially a golfer! As a reminder, I only golf executive 9- hole courses for now, but my 2017 goals have been set to expand my field of play.

Dan and the kids got me set with a requested 6 iron, new pink balls, tees, and a towel that wasn’t white. My mother-in-law gave me money so I quickly headed for Golf-mart to purchase a driver, a new bag, shoes (hated the old ones), 2 new shirts, and a new hybrid cover. Thanks family!

Today, I played 18 holes for the first time since July (still an executive course with only 4 par 3’s). Oh what a day! Fantastic shots and putts! Of 18 holes my putts were all ones or two’s! But the best part….wait for it…img_6840

I smacked my friend’s squirrel driver cover!  Yes, knocked it off the club and to the ground. Never used a driver until today, so control is still a bit of an issue, but this was a beautiful shot! Who else could have nailed that?  Now I have to give this club a name. Remember my hybrid is now the Coot Slayer (see earlier post), so this new club needs an equally awesome name. I am open to suggestions. We all got a great laugh. Maybe you had to be there, I don’t know.

I’m hoping Dan is going to want to play golf with me now that I’m improving so much. Perhaps I won’t mention this incident though!

Leave a Reply

